Notifications
Clear all

Pigeon vaccinations

Page 1 / 2

Tom97
(@tom97)
Topic starter  

Hi, begginer fancier here. 

Firstly a bit about myself, as I'm hoping to stick around and learn as I go. I've never used forums for anything before. So hopefully I'm posting this in the right place, if not please correct me. 

I'm 23 from East of England. I brought 2 pairs of birds from a local fancier back in May. Since then  one pair has had 3 young, but the other pair hasn't had any. 

My young birds seem to be doing really well, they loft fly daily by themselves and I've taken them to around 2 miles for releases so far and they have come back without issue within 15 mins. However they seem to still have plenty of energy left after returning. As they continue to circle the garden for a while before coming in and landing. 

My other main question at the minute is on vaccinations. I have pmv vaccine ready to give them. But have read that salmonella is also a common problem. I just wanted to know your thoughts on this, whether I should/shouldn't vaccinate for this. I've also read that this vaccine can be dangerous if there is already a infection present in the loft. But to check this you need a lab test? Any advice would be great, again apologies for the long post but I want to make sure I'm doing right by my birds. 

Thankyou

George & Morgan
(@george-morgan)
Famed Member Registered

welcome  to the forum Tom you will get good advice and help on here i would say don't buy any pigeons untill you have posted on here what it is your looking for i know one member maybe not too far from you has some very reasonable priced birds for sale and you would not go wrong with them there are also members who will be only to happy to breed you ybs to race next year good luck

ReplyQuote
George & Morgan
(@george-morgan)
Famed Member Registered

Posted by: @george-morgan