Notifications
Clear all

Racing hens  

baqar69
(@baqar69)
New Member Registered
15/10/2019 5:48 am  

Hi GUYS

What the best feeding system for hens and cocks I want to race the next year.

I am new in racing pigeons I need a system please can someone help me out

Muzza
(@muzza)
Noble Member Registered
15/10/2019 10:17 am  

Hi baqar69

Welcome to the forum, they are a friendly bunch and always ready to help.

I will tell you the most important thing you need to know about feeding pigeons. What you are feeding is never as important as what you are feeding it to. Think about that for a moment.

First, you need a good home for your pigeons. It doesn't need to be a very expensive loft. You can raise terrific babies in a cardboard box that a barbeque came in. I do. LoL If they feel safe and are in a healthy environment, they will thrive. If you need to use medications from a vet regularly to keep them healthy, 99% of the time there is something wrong with the loft.

Second, you need good pigeons. That is the easy bit. There are pigeons available from breeders who offer birds which are bred to perform at any distance you want. There are also many racing fanciers with very good pigeons.

Third, you have to have pigeons which are fit and healthy. If they don't want to get up and fly like they are excited to be out there, they probably have a health problem. If they are really flying hard, and doing well in the training flights, you are 90% of the way there. Grin

If you have all of that right, you can think about the feed. If you join a club you will meet people who know what works in your part of the country. There are many feed companies offering the 'Very Latest development in Pigeon Feed'. Some of them are more interested in the fast buck than the fast pigeon. Good pigeons don't need that.

Good luck, I hope you have a lot of fun with them. Grin

Regards

Murray.

ReplyQuote
Andy123
(@andy123)
Member Admin
15/10/2019 11:44 am  

Hi Baqar69

Welcome to the site.